TSAPS Meeting Logo.   Joint Fall Meeting Logo.

All Sessions Will Be Equipped For Power Point Presentations
Click here to download the conference schedule in MS Excel format.

Conference Schedule

Joint Fall Meeting of the Texas Sections of the APS, AAPT,
and Society of Physics Students (Zone 13)

Texas Tech University, Lubbock, October 23-25, 2003

Time Event Location
3:30-5:00pm Meeting of Robert Clark's NSF Teacher Group Sc. 112
5:30-8:00pm Registration and Welcoming Reception Wrangler Room

Lubbock Inn
7:00pm Texas Section APS Executive Committee Meeting Red Raider Room

Lubbock Inn
7:00pm Texas Section AAPT Executive Committee Meeting Room 116

Lubbock Inn

Numbers Designate Paper Session Number!

Time Event Location
7:00am Department Chair's Breakfast Lubbock Inn
8:00am -5:00pm Conference Registration Sc. 103
8:20-8:30am Welcoming Remarks: Sc. 007

Lynn Hatfield (Chair of Physics) & Jane Winer (Dean, College of A&S)
8:30-9:50am Plenary Session I: Chair: Myles. Sc. 007

Speakers: Sankey (Molecular Electronics). Zutavern (Electron-hole Plasmas)
9:50-10:15am Break: Coffee, etc. Sc. 103 & Hallway
10:15-11:00am Plenary Session II: Chair: Myles. Sc. 007

Speaker: Cranberg (A Physicist in Politics)
11:00-12:15pm A1: Atomic, Molecular & Chemical Physics. Chair: Glab Sc. 007

A2: Theoretical Physics. Chair: Estreicher Sc. 112

A3: Nanotechnology. Chair: Menon Sc. 010

A4: Physics Education Research & Sc. 234

Am. Assoc. of Physics Teachers I. Chair: Elizondo

A5: Poster Session. Chair: Borst. Posters up all afternoon! Hallways
12:30-2:00pm Lunch & Meetings Frazier Pavillion

TSAPS Business Meeting

TSAAPT Business Meeting
1:30-5:00pm Research Laboratory Tours See list
1:30-3:30pm B2: Applied Physics and Biophysics. Chair: Hatfield Sc. 112

B3: Solid State Physics I: Chair: Lichti Sc. 234

B4: Astrophysics & Cosmology. Chair: Wilhelm Sc. 010

W1: AAPT Workshop: "Great Ladies – Great Ideas: Sc. 121

Women in Physics”. Edwards, Gwinn, Restivo
3:30-3:45 Break: Coffee, etc. Sc. 103 & Hallway
3:45-5:15 C1: Solid State Physics II. Chair: Sauncy Sc. 234

C2: Am. Assoc. of Physics Teachers II. Chair: Downing Sc. 010

C3: Society of Physics Students I. Chair: Donnelly Sc. 112

C4: Symposium on Quantum Computing: Sc. 007

Chair: Lodhi. Speakers: Hemmer, Hasan, Zubairy
06:30 Social Time Frazier Pavillion
07:30 Banquet: After dinner talk by Dr. Fred Suppe, Frazier Pavillion

TTU Professor of Philosphy, "Inverse Problems from A to V"
After Banquet "Star Party" at the on-campus Observatory. Chair: Wilhelm. Observatory

Time Event Room
8:30-10:30 Plenary Session III (Semiconductor Physics): Sc. 007

Chair: Myles. Speakers: Weber, Estreicher, Wright
10:30-10:45 Break: Coffee, etc. Sc. 103
10:45-12:30 D1: Symposium: Nanotechnology & Physics in Industry. Sc. 007

Chair: Myles. Speakers: Michalske (Nanotech.), Demkov (Industry)

D2: Solid State Physics II. Chair: Holtz. Sc. 234

D3: Particle Physics. Chair: Akchurin. Sc. 010

D3: Society of Physics Students II. Chair: May. Sc. 112

D4: Am. Assoc. of Physics Teachers III. Chair: Thacker. Sc. 205

W2: AAPT Workshop: "Newton is Not Just Numbers. See Sc. 118

the Laws, Be the Laws with PASCO Probes." Moore.

W3: AAPT Workshop: "Vernier Workshop for Physics Sc. 121

Teachers." Gastineau.

This page designed by t.l. gibson
Hosted by TTU Physics
<< Return to Joint Fall Meeting Page