TTU Physics Department.

High Energy Physics


The experimental HEP group at TTU, led by Professors Akchurin, Lee, Volobouev and Wigmans, is playing a leading role in the design, construction and commissioning of the CMS forward hadron calorimeters and is deeply involved in searches for the Higgs bosons and physics beyond the Standard Model at LHC (Large Hadron Collider). The group participates in the activities of the LHC Physics Center at Fermilab and maintains a generic detector R&D program with possible future applications at the ILC (International Linear Collider).
Details can be found at

Experimental Research Topics
  • Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) Experiment @ CERN
    • Searches for Higgs Boson and New Physics Phenomena
    • Improving the Sensitivity of the CMS Detector to Jet Physics
    • Understading of the CMS Hadron Calorimeters
    • Click here for the CMS Experiment
  • Advanced Detector Research and Development
    • CMS Forward Hadron Calorimeter
    • DREAM (Dual REadout Module) Calorimeter
  • International Linear Collider, 4th Concept
  • Large-scale Computing in High Energy Physics
  • QuarkNet Outreach Program

Click here for the High Energy Physics Homepage

Faculty Members

Dr. Nural Akchurin

Dr. Sung-Won Lee

Dr. Igor Volobouev

Dr. Richard Wigmans

Dr. Alan Sill    (High Performance Computing Center at TTU, HPCC)


Texas Tech Today: The Hunt for the "God" Particle

Video: Particle Hunters: Part 1, Part 2

CMS Detector @ CERN
Muon Solenoid

Assembly of the Muon Solenoid structure at CERN. The silver slab is being moved toward the ring with a crane.